In New York, if a driver of another vehicle causes you bodily injury, the minimum insurance coverage in New York State is $25,000 per injured person (and up to $50,000 for all persons injured in total). If a person is caused to die in a car accident, the minimum coverage is $50,000 for the survivors of the deceased.
If you are injured by a hit & run driver (and you cannot identify that driver) you may be covered through your own automobile coverage (under “Uninsured Motorist Protection”) or through a State Agency called “MVAIC.” Generally, the state minimum coverage is $25,000 (although many people choose a higher amount of coverage, for example, $50,000, $100,000, or $300,000 coverage).
You should consult with Charles DeStefano regarding these issues. He has over 25 years experience as an accident lawyer. Mr. DeStefano is currently the President of the Staten Island Trial Lawyers Association and is very involved in the community. (In fact, he speaks fluent Spanish and rudimentary Italian and French).
If you have any questions relating to accident law, insurance, automobile coverage, etc, please call Charles DeStefano.